You are here

University of Malawi: History and Structure

Historical and Contextual Background of the University

The idea that Malawi should have a University was first conceived soon after the country got its independence in 1964. At Government’s request, the educational needs of the country were surveyed by the American Council on Education and the then British Inter-University Council on Higher Education Overseas. In October 1964, the University of Malawi was founded. It is the oldest University in Malawi and so far the largest in terms of student enrolment numbers.


The University of Malawi with a central Administrative office in Zomba, Southern Malawi has five colleges with a total of 15 faculties as below;